Hiểu hay không hiểu? Did you understand that or not?

Standard

You’ll find this sentence useful you’re new to Vietnamese: (Tôi) không hiểu – I don’t understand
Tôi – I
không – no, not
hiểu – understand

Followed by Tôi mới học tiếng Việt – I just started learning Vietnamese
mới – recently (new)
học – to study, learn
tiếng – language (sound)
Việt – Vietnam, Vietnamese

And here’s an oxymoron for you: Tôi không biết tiếng Việt. – I don’t know (speak) Vietnamese
biết – to know
Why would you deny knowing Vietnamese by saying a perfectly correct Vietnamese sentence?🙂

Anyway, back to the main point: the verb hiểu (to understand).
You can pair it with other verbs
(Tôi) nghe không hiểu: I don’t understand what I heard
(Tôi) đọc không hiểu: I don’t understand what I read
(Tôi) nhìn không hiểu: I don’t understand what I saw

This structure is similar to “nhìn không thấy” and “nghe không thấy” in a previous lesson.
You put không between the main verb and the result to show the outcome of that action.

Guess what these sentences mean: Tôi đọc tiếng Việt không hiểu. Tôi nghe tiếng Việt cũng không hiểu. Tôi nói tiếng Việt không ai hiểu. Tôi học tiếng Việt mãi mà không hiểu. Trời ơi! (start yanking out hair!)
ai who
mãi forever

Hay means “or”
Hiểu hay không hiểu?
Do you understand the title of this post now?
What’s your answer?

Leave a Reply

