Nhắn tin – Text Message

Standard

Đen: Ê mày, mai nhớ đem trả tao cuốn truyện
Nâu: Ờ. Mà tao hay quên. Mày nhắn tin nhắc tao đi!
Đen: Cũng được. Khoảng mấy giờ?
Nâu: Hai giờ chiều!
Đen: Ok. Vậy một giờ chiều mai mày nhắn tin nhắc tao nhắn mày nha😀
Nâu: ….

In this short story, the 2 people are using the pronoun “mày” for you, and “tao” for I. “Mày” and “tao” are extremely casual pronouns between close friends. Do not use them when talking to strangers, and definitely not to your sweetheart unless you guys are in a fight.

Đen means Black. Nâu means brown.

Ê mày mai nhớ đem trả tao cuốn truyện
Hey you, tomorrow remember (to) bring return me the (story) book

First person: Hey you, tomorrow remember to bring the book and return it to me!

Ờ. tao hay quên. Mày nhắn tin nhắc tao đi!
Oh. But I often forget. You text message to remind me (please)

Second person: Oh. But I often forget. Text to remind me please!

Cũng được. Khoảng mấy giờ?
Ok. About what time?

First person: Ok. What time (should I text you)?

Hai giờ chiều!
2 o’clock afternoon

Second person: 2 pm

Ok. Vậy một giờ chiều mai mày nhắn tin nhắc tao nhắc mày nha
Then 1 o’clock afternoon tomorrow you text message to remind me to remind you (please)

First person: Ok. Then at 1 pm tomorrow, text me to remind me to text you.
The points to remember from this story?

  • a new pair of pronouns “mày” (you) and “tao” (I)
  • how to “nhắn tin” (text message) someone
  • how to “nhắc” (remind) people to do something/about something
  • asking the time “mấy giờ?” and answering “hai giờ chiều” (2 o’clock in the afternoon, 2 pm), “một giờ chiều mai” (1 pm tomorrow)

Story from TruyenCuoi.vn

Leave a Reply

