Week 2 Audio – The Knocked Up Girlfriend

Standard

This is a prank call in Vietnamese. The accent is a countryside Northern Vietnamese. It’s hilarious, but it’s also at advanced level. I may make my beginner students listen to this just to get used to listening to Vietnamese though.

The original YouTube clip is posted below. The whole clip is 7 minutes. I just cut out the first 40 seconds.

The Knocked Up Girlfriend Prank Call

Name of clip: Anh à, em có chửa rồi. Anh nói chuyện với bố em nhá! – Honey, I got knocked up. You come and talk to my dad, ok!

Girl: Anh Việt à?
Guy: Ơ cái số máy này là số máy ở đâu ấy nhở? – Er, which phone number is this?
Girl: Hình như bố em cài cái gì, em không biết.- Maybe my dad installed something (on the phone), I don’t know.

À, nhưng mà anh ơi…- But you…

Thế bây giờ anh có thể nào đến nói chuyện với bố em được không?- Then now can you come and talk to my dad please?

Bố em bây giờ, bố em đi vắng nhưng mà… – My dad right now, my dad is not at home but…
(noise / phone breaks up)
Girl: … nói, cứ bảo là, cứ bảo em khai ra là mày đi ngủ với ai thế nọ thế kia,- ... say, just telling, asking me to confess whom I slept with like that

bây giờ mày có chửa,- now you get knocked up

nhưng mà hôm qua em ngủ với anh mà… but yesterday I slept with you…
Guy: Vô lý. – Non-sense
Girl: Em chỉ yêu mỗi mình anh thôi. I love only you.
Guy: Hằng nào mà anh không biết? – Which Hằng (a girl’s name) are you, how come I don’t know?
Girl: Hay là anh ngủ với nhiều người quá, nên bây giờ anh chối bỏ em đúng không? – Or is it that you sleep with too many people, so now you reject me, is that right?

Ơ cái số máy này số máy ở đâu ấy nhở?
Er this phone number is number from where (question particle)
Hình như bố em cài cái gì, em không biết
Maybe my dad install something I don’t know
À nhưng mà anh ơi
but (particle used when calling for someone’s attention)
Thế bây giờ anh có thể nào đến nói chuyện với bố em được không?
So now you in any way can come talk with my dad ok?
Bố em bây giờ bố em đi vắng nhưng mà…
My dad now, my dad is away from home but…
… cứ bảo là, cứ bảo em khai ra mày đi ngủ với ai thế nọ thế kia
kept saying that kept say I confess you sleep with whom like this, like that
bây giờ mày có chửa
now you get knocked up
nhưng mà hôm qua em ngủ với anh
but yesterday I slept with you
Em chỉ yêu mỗi mình anh thôi
I only love just one you
Hằng nào anh không biết?
a girl’s name which that I don’t know?
Hay là anh ngủ với nhiều người quá
Or perhaps you sleep with many people too
nên bây giờ anh chối bỏ em đúng không?
so now you refuse, reject me is that right?

Leave a Reply

